Content on this page requires a newer version of Adobe Flash Player.

Get Adobe Flash player

Frequently Asked Questions

3. What is the DROS process?

4. Who is prohibited from purchasing or possessing firearms in California?

6. Why do I have to buy a gunlock or trigger lock with the purchase of my gun?

7. What if the gun I am purchasing comes with a gunlock, trigger lock or other safety device?

8. Is there a limit to the number of firearms that a person can purchase at one time?

9. What does the expiration of the Federal Assault Weapons Ban mean for California Dealers and Gun Owners?

10. I am selling my gun to a friend, how do I do it?

11. Why are some models of handguns not legal for sale in California?

12. Buying and Selling Firearms?

13. Rules specific to Gun Gallery?

Buying A Firearm In California

1. What is the minimum legal age to purchase a firearm in California?
(a). 18 years of age for rifles or shotguns
(b). 21 years of age for handguns

2. What is the waiting period for firearm purchases in California?
(a). 10 days, calculated as ten, consecutive, 24-hour periods commencing with the initiation of the DROS process. At Gun Gallery you will pick up your firearm on the eleventh day to avoid any confusion.

3. What is the DROS process?
(a). DROS stands for Dealer Record of Sale. It is the system used by the California Dept. of Justice wherein background checks are conducted for purchasers of firearms. It is also the method in which handgun sales registration information is obtained.

4. Who is prohibited from purchasing or possessing firearms in California?
(a). Persons convicted of felonies or certain misdemeanors, persons addicted to narcotics, persons adjudicated to be mentally defective, persons who are under the restrictions of a temporary restraining order (domestic violence) are amongst the persons who may not purchase or possess firearms. A very specific list of felony and misdemeanor offenses that prohibit firearms ownership is available for review at any licensed dealer.

5. What are the additional requirements necessary for purchasing a handgun?
(a). Handgun purchasers must possess a Handgun Safety Certificate (or qualifying exemption), provide evidence of residency, (utility bill or current matching car registration), valid CA driver's license or State I.D. and perform a Safe Handling Demonstration.

A. How does one obtain a Handgun Safety Certificate?
(a). By successfully passing the written HSC test. The test consists of 30 questions; passing scores are 23 answers correct or more.  Study booklets are available for $0.50. The test may be taken during normal store hours and upon purchase of a firearm. The HSC is valid for 5 years from date of issuance.

B. What documents are necessary to show evidence of residency?
(a). Utility bills from within the last 90 days, property deeds, permanent military station orders, lease or rental agreements or government issued permits, licenses or registrations are acceptable proofs of residency that meet the CA DOJ requirements. (NOTE- alien residents, immigrant aliens and non-immigrant aliens must provide additional residency that also meets Federal guidelines. Three utility bills, valid photo green card and matching CA ID or driver's license along with valid HSC.)

C. What is the Safe Handling Demonstration?
(a). The Safe Handling Demonstration is a set of firearm handling skills that must be performed by the purchaser with the gun they are purchasing or with a gun of the same model as the one that is being purchased. The skills include checking that the handgun is empty, unlocking it, loading it with a dummy round, unloading it and relocking it. This demonstration is performed at the time of DROS.

6. Why do I have to buy a gunlock or trigger lock with the purchase of my gun?
(a). California law requires that all firearms sold, be transferred with DOJ approved lock, qualifying gun cabinet or lock box, or gun safe. Persons who already own a safe or lock box can sign an affidavit attesting to ownership of those devices ONLY for long gun transactions. All private party transactions for HANDGUNS must include a purchase of a NEW DOJ approved lock. A lock coupled with a receipt WITHIN 30 DAYS of the purchase of a handgun is acceptable.

7. What if the gun I am purchasing comes with a gunlock, trigger lock or other safety device?
(a). If the device that comes with your gun is on the “approved” list than you will not need to purchase another gunlock or cable.

8. Is there a limit to the number of firearms that a person can purchase at one time?
(a). California law limits the purchase of handguns to no more than one handgun transferred from a dealer to an individual within any 30-day period. Note- Firearms transferred between individuals, that are transacted through dealers, (known as Private Party Transfers), are exempt from the one-handgun-a-month restriction.
(b). California law does not limit the number of long guns (rifles or shotguns) purchased by one person or within any specific time period.

9. What does the expiration of the Federal Assault Weapons Ban mean for California Dealers and Gun Owners?
(a). For the most part, the expiration of the Federal Assault Weapons Ban does nothing to change California’s restrictions on the sale or possession of California designated “assault weapons” or high capacity magazines. As in other areas of firearms law, CA law supersedes Federal law.

10. I am selling my gun to a friend, how do I do it?
(a). Sales conducted between unlicensed individuals are called Private Party Transfers. PPT’s must be brokered through licensed dealers. Both parties must be present at the time of the sale. The purchaser bears the cost of the transaction and must meet all of the qualifications as outlined above. The firearms will remain at Gun Gallery during the 10-day waiting period. All guns are scheduled to pick up on the 11th day.

11. Why are some models of handguns not legal for sale in California?
(a). CA law dictates that only those guns deemed “not unsafe” may be sold. In order to be listed, handguns must be submitted to the state for testing. Not all manufacturers have submitted each of their models for testing by the state.

Buying & Selling Firearms

Gun Gallery is Southern California’s preferred firearm dealer,  in addition to carrying the largest selection of new handguns, rifles and shotguns; Gun Gallery offers the following services:

Private Party Transfers:
Are you selling a gun to a private party so that you can free up some cash for that brand new shotgun? We can help. State law dictates that dealers conduct transfers between non-licensed private parties. These transfers can be done at our store right here in the heart of Glendale. Keep in mind that both you and the party that you are selling to or buying from, must both be present. Buyers must meet all state mandated criteria with regards to residency and HSC certification criteria. For your convenience, we recommend that you set an appointment at the store nearest you. All Private Party transactions will be subject to a waiting period and state and dealer fees.

Consignment Sales:
Don’t have the time to find a buyer for your gun? Are you nervous about advertising your used gun to strangers? Why not let us do the work for you. We can sell your used firearms on consignment. As Southern California’s premier firearms dealer, we can put your gun in front of discriminating buyers in order to get you top dollar for your guns.

We Buy Used Guns:
Do you want top dollar for your used gun today? Let us make you an offer. Free up those dollars in that old gun, so that we can get you into that new gun before opening day. One gun, three guns or estate buying, we can work with you in order to get you the fairest possible deal.

Dealer to Dealer or FFL Transfers:
Are you looking for a dealer to help you receive that special family gun from your favorite uncle back east? Did you fall for that one-in-a-thousand gold engraved commemorative pistol? Are you passing along a gun to a family member out of state? We can help you out. We can assist in transferring your gun to another dealer and we can receive guns on your behalf. In addition to Cal DOJ DROS fees, freight and transfer fees will apply.

Any further questions please refer to California's Department of Justice: http://certguns.doj.ca.gov/

For security purposes please turn off all cell phones and electronic devices before entering our showroom.

Please respect our talented staff at all times, all customers displaying hostility or rudeness will not be sold a firearm, no exceptions. Our staff is armed at all times for the protection of our customers.

There is a 25% restocking fee (not including state fees) that is charged for any cancelations or DOJ denials and DMV rejections.